Fanatic/Clarifications

From Sentinel Comics Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search



Edit this Clarification

Fireside Chats

  • If "Embolden" is next to Haka, and Haka or Fanatic becomes an Isolated Hero, then "Embolden" remains where it is. However, it no longer confers a benefit to Haka. At the end of Haka's turn, Fanatic cannot deal damage to Haka so "Embolden" is destroyed.
  • Fanatic must choose a positive integer for "Sacrosanct Martyr".
  • While "Fixed Point" is in play, "Aegis of Resurrection" still takes effect immediately when Fanatic is reduced to <= 0 HP. Same thing with Apostate on his back side, or any other cards that still have "reduced to 0 or less HP".
  • Cards that restore HP are unaffected by effects that increase/decrease HP gain. For example, "Aegis of Resurrection" is unaffected by "Phosphorescent Chamber".
  • If "Embolden" is on a hero and that hero becomes incapacitated, "Embolden" stays there until the end of that hero's next turn.
  • Ruling change: Additional/granted powers work like additional/granted card plays. For example, if you put "Embolden" on Expatriette, and she uses "Pride" and then "Prejudice" (from "Pride"), she still has one power use remaining. This makes additional/granted powers work like the combination of "HUD Goggles and Lightning Reflexes", for example.
  • "Divine Sacrifice" and "Stun Bolt" do not require the target to take damage in order to get the extra effect. If the damage is redirected, the ultimate target gets the extra effect.
  • If Fanatic is incapacitated after playing "Divine Sacrifice", its redirection effect goes away. Damage dealt by those targets is no longer affected.
  • If Fanatic has less than 3 cards left and plays "Wrathful Retribution", she still has to discard the cards but does not get to deal damage.
  • If you choose an indestructible target for "Final Dive", nothing is destroyed, and then no damage is dealt.
  • If Xtreme Prime Wardens Fanatic selects a target for damage with Kill The Spirit and no damage is dealt, damage still gets redirected to that target (similar to Stun Bolt).
  • If Xtreme Prime Wardens Fanatic uses her power on two different targets (which is possible if Fanatic's damage is reduced to 0 so it would not be redirected), the second use overrides the first.

Spiff's Clarifications

  • "Chastise" errata
    • The text on this card is officially changed to read: "Play next to a non-Hero Target other than a Character Card. That Target is immune to Damage and cannot deal Damage. At the start of your turn, either Fanatic deals herself 2 Psychic Damage or this Card is Destroyed." The addition of "non-hero" to the wording is meant to preclude situations where, for example, "Chastise" could have been played on Unity's "Stealth Bot", which would allow the bot to redirect damage from heroes to itself while being immune to damage thanks to "Chastise".
  • Divine Sacrifice
    • This card deals some damage then says, "Damage dealt by those Targets is redirected to Fanatic until the start of your next turn". The damage described in the first paragraph and the redirection effect in the second paragraph are not connected, so the targets are not required to take Fanatic's damage in order to get the extra effect. If Fanatic's damage is redirected by some effect, it is the final target whose damage will be redirected, not the initial target. If Fanatic is incapacitated after playing "Divine Sacrifice", its redirection effect goes away immediately and damage dealt by those targets is no longer affected. (See Fireside Chats above.)
  • "Exorcism" damage
    • This power deals 1 point of melee damage and 1 point of radiant damage. These are separate instances of damage, and effects which increase damage will increase each instance separately. For example, if Fanatic gets +1 damage on her turn and she activates "Exorcism", she will do 1+1 melee damage and 1+1 radiant damage. Even in a case where, for example, Ra's "Imbue Fire" (changes all damage dealt by heroes to fire damage and increases it by 1) is in play, each damage instance will be affected individually. That means that the melee damage will change to fire damage and increase by 1, and the radiant damage will change to fire damage and increase by 1, still doing a total of 4 fire damage.
  • "End of Days" and "Forced Deployment"
    • "End of Days" destroys all cards in play except the hero and villain character cards and relics. Grand Warlord Voss' card "Forced Deployment" brings all the minion cards from the villain trash back into play when destroyed. How does the timing of these events interact? When "Forced Deployment" is destroyed, it immediately puts all of the minions from Voss' discard pile into play, but they are then in turn destroyed by the (still ongoing) "End of Days" effect. This is because of two universal principles of the game: "Simultaneous" actions do not actually occur simultaneously, but rather occur in the order of the players' choosing; thus, the players choose the order in which cards are destroyed by End of Days. Further, "triggered effects" from cards (e.g. "when this card is destroyed", "whenever this card takes damage", etc.) are processed immediately upon the fulfillment of the trigger condition. Consequently, when "End of Days" is triggered, it immediately begins destroying all cards in play in the order of the players' choosing. This effect continues until there are no more cards in play. When "Forced Deployment" is destroyed, all of the minions are immediately put into play. As there are still cards in play after the destruction of "Forced Deployment", the "End of Days" effect continues destroying cards until there are not. Note that, with "End of Days", it is in fact impossible for the players to choose a destruction order in which any minions are left in play by "Forced Deployment".[1]
  • End of Days and Lady Luck
    • Kismet's "Lady Luck" says "Whenever a Villain Card would be destroyed, reveal the top Card of the Villain Deck. If it is not a Lucky Card, Discard it and prevent the Card Destruction. If it is a Lucky Card, put it into play". This may seem to indicate that "Lady Luck" could save a card or cards from destruction by "End of Days", but that's not true. "End of Days" will not destroy itself until there are no cards left in play other than itself, character cards, and relics. The most "Lady Luck" can do is postpone a card's destruction each time a non-lucky card is drawn.[2]
  • Prayer of Desperation
    • The last line of rules for this card reads, "immediately end your turn". This means to proceed immediately to Fanatic's end-of-turn phase, which is not the same as skipping the rest of her turn entirely. She may still take any end-of-turn actions she may have.
  • Undaunted
    • This card reads "Whenever Fanatic would be dealt 5 or more Damage from a single source, reduce that Damage by 2". Each instance of damage is a separate source, so if a single target (a villain, for example) dealt three different instances of damage to a character in a single round, each instance would be evaluated by "Undaunted" separately. The fact that all three came from the same "source" (the villain) isn't relevant.
  • Wrathful Retribution
    • This card says, "Discard 3 Cards. if you do, Fanatic deals 1 Target X Radiant Damage, where X = Fanatic's maximum HP minus her current HP." If Fanatic has less than 3 cards left in her hand when this card is played, she still has to discard all of her cards, but she does not get to deal the damage. (See Fireside Chats above.)
  • Zealous Offense
    • The card reads in part, "At the start of your turn, select up to 2 non-Character Card Targets. Those Targets cannot deal Damage until the start of your next turn". The cards chosen must be cards which are already in play at the time "Zealous Offense" is activated. The effect of not being able to deal damage applies to the chosen cards only, not to other copies of those cards which are in play or may be played later.

Sources