Guise/Clarifications

From Sentinel Comics Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search



Edit this Clarification

Fireside Chats

  • You guys are so fiddly! All you need to know is that I'm AWESOME!
  • Giving a high-five is NOT optional.
  • Guise's first incapacitated ability does nothing if a player discards something with only Mechanical Golem, Construct, or similar keywords.
  • For Guise's third incapacitated ability, if there are (H) environment cards, and then destroying one of them somehow causes two more environment cards to come out, thereby causing there to be (H)+1 environment cards in play, another one gets destroyed.
  • If Guise plays "Tool Box" from his hand, it goes to Mr. Fixer's play area and Mr. Fixer draws the cards, not Guise.
  • If Guise has another hero's cards in his hand, and he is incapacitated, the cards move to the other hero's trash.
  • If Ermine has "Subtle Diversion" out, and Guise deals her damage that cannot be redirected, it uses up "Subtle Diversion"'s effect for that turn.
  • Suppose Guise borrows Jack Handle with Lemme See That and then uses I Can Do That Too with Adamant Mainstay's Haymaker. The "next damage dealt to that target is irreducible" effect applies to each target hit this way by Guise. The damage reduction effect of Adamant Idealist’s power would apply the same way if he used that.
  • Guise can activate gazelle, crocodile, and rhinoceros effects on cards in other play areas, but not on one-shots that he didn't play
  • Suppose Guise has access to both Applied Numerology and Astral Premonition. If Guise reveals 3 cards, the third card would go back to where it was: the top of the deck. It's the toppiest. If Guise puts 2 on top of the deck, then none go on the bottom. If Guise attempt to put 2 on the bottom of the deck, there’s only 1 card left at that point, so there’s no change in the effect. If Guise puts 0 on the top or bottom of the deck, the extra card goes back to where it was (the top of the deck). This applies to similarly worded cards: if there are leftover cards, they go back on top of the deck.
  • It's Gift-mas Time!
    • With Santa Guise's first power, the player does not get to see which card is going face-down in their play area. In the digital version, they can look at their deck but it will include the face-down cards, so they cannot determine which ones are their presents.
    • With Santa Guise's second power, the other player chooses the order of their own cards. The "Choose For Me" button uses the order they entered play.
    • For Santa Guise's second incapacitated ability "One Hero uses a Power, then turns one Hero non-Character Card in play face-down", they are not allowed to select a hero non-character card in play that is already face-down.
    • For Santa Guise's third incapacitated ability, "Flip 1 face-down Card, treating it as put into play", he can select Wager Master's or Agent of Gloom's face-down cards.
    • When Santa Guise uses his second power, he can choose a hero who has no face-down cards in their play area.
    • Some cards in the digital version can give hints as to the nature of the face-down "present" cards (e.g. "Technological Advancement" tells you how many components/equipment are in the deck). Also, "Technological Advancement" lets you "search your deck" which on the tabletop would allow you to know for sure what your presents are, but we don't do this in the digital version. The digital version just works slightly differently than the tabletop game in this case.
    • Suppose a limited card is flipped face-up by Santa Guise, and another copy is already in play. Normally, the newly flipped face-up card goes to the trash. However, if it is indestructible (e.g. due to Fixed Point) then it flips back over again.
    • When Santa Guise moves "Shinobi Assassin" from the top of the hero deck to the hero's play area (remaining face-down), nothing special happens. But when it is flipped and played, then it goes to the environment play area.
  • "Lemme See That..."
    • "Lemme See That..." says "'you' on that card means Guise's player". However, "I Can Do That, Too!" and "Uh, Yeah, I'm That Guy!" don't say that. They should behave the same way. Their text in the digital version is updated accordingly.
    • When Guise uses "Lemme See That..." on "Scrap Metal" so that he gets one of Unity's bots in his hand, when he plays that bot, it goes to Unity's play area. More generally, when a card is played from a hand, it goes to its owner's play area, unless something specifically says otherwise.
    • If Guise uses an instrument to activate a song, all the decisions and effects from the song belong to Guise. For example, with "Cedistic Dissonant", Guise decides which card to destroy, and he discards and draws cards.
    • If Guise uses "Lemme See That..." on one of Omnitron-X's Plating cards, when Omnitron-X uses "Reactive Plating Subroutine", that plating card still counts.
    • When Spite makes players return cards to their hands, an equipment card that Guise has taken with "Lemme See That..." goes to Guise's hand.
    • If Guise uses "Jack Handle", and then plays "Look What I Found!", if any targets hit by the effect are still in play, Guise gets a single +1 to his next damage.
    • Suppose Guise has "Dual Crowbars" and then uses "I Can Do That, Too!" on Sky-Scraper's Huge card. After the first "round" of damage (to non-hero targets), "Dual Crowbars" causes Guise to deal as much damage as was dealt to the first non-hero target to one more target. Then, after the second "round" of damage (to hero targets), "Dual Crowbars" causes Guise to deal as much damage as was dealt to the first hero to one more target. (This is also how "Dual Crowbars" interacts with "Jack Handle".)
    • Guise can play "Lemme See That..." on an Ongoing card that has become Equipment due to "Caspit's Playground".
    • If "Caspit's Playground" is destroyed, "Lemme See That..." stops working, but remains where it is.
    • If Guise plays Lemme See That next to Sweet Rhonda and at the end of his turn destroys Lemme See That to get the card play from destroying one of his ongoings, Mainstay gets the card play. Guise no longer has control of Sweet Rhonda, but a card was destroyed so someone gets to play a card.
    • If Guise plays Lemme See That next to Void Belter and it allows him to destroy one of his cards, Void Belter counts as one of his cards as an option to destroy. Guise ALSO has control of Void Belter, but that doesn’t take control of Void Belter away from Mainstay.
  • "Uh, Yeah, I'm That Guy!"
    • When "Uh, Yeah, I'm That Guy!" copies a card with "when this card enters play" effects, it works as follows. If the other card is already in play, and "Uh, Yeah, I'm That Guy!" is played, the "when this card enters play" effects occur again. For example, with "Inspiring Presence", all hero targets regain 1 HP. If "Uh, Yeah, I'm That Guy!" is already in play and then the other card enters play, the "when this card enters play" effects do not occur twice, because "Uh, Yeah, I'm That Guy!" is not entering play anew.
    • "Uh, Yeah, I'm That Guy!" only copies the game text of the ongoing card, not the keywords and title of the ongoing card.
    • When "Uh, Yeah, I'm That Guy!" copies "Heroic Interception" it results in all hero targets being immune to damage.
    • "Uh Yeah I'm That Guy" can copy the text of ongoings that are next to other cards, but those effects do nothing because "Uh, Yeah, I'm That Guy!" is not next to another card.
    • When "Uh, Yeah, I'm That Guy!" copies Sky-Scraper's ongoing card that says "Switch to Sky-Scraper's Huge Character Card", which becomes "Switch to Guise's Huge Character Card," nothing happens.
    • When Bunker has a Mode card, and Guise plays "Uh, Yeah, I'm That Guy!", it executes the "When this Card enters play, Destroy all other Mode Cards". That destroys Bunker's Mode card, and therefore "Uh, Yeah, I'm That Guy!" doesn't really end up copying it. This also happens with Mr. Fixer's Style cards.
    • If Guise has "Uh, Yeah, I'm That Guy!" in play, and then uses "I Can Do That, Too!" on the Argent Adept, the Perform texts on AA's songs should also be on "Uh, Yeah, I'm That Guy!". While this is technically correct, it's unnecessary and so is not implemented in the digital version.
    • "Uh, Yeah, I'm That Guy!" copies all the Ongoing cards next to cards in a hero's play area. It does not copy the hero's ongoing cards that are elsewhere. For example, suppose "Embolden" is next to Chrono-Ranger, and you high-five Chrono-Ranger. "Uh, Yeah, I'm That Guy!" has the text of "Embolden" (which doesn't do anything, anyway). It does not have the text of Bounties in play elsewhere.
    • If "Uh, Yeah, I'm That Guy!" copies the text of "Infection", and all heroes are infected (including Guise), then it would trigger a discard of "Uh, Yeah, I'm That Guy!" and play the top card of the villain deck, as per the first line of "Infection". "Uh, Yeah, I'm That Guy!" goes to Guise's trash. Barring ultimate shenanigans (which Guise is always shooting for, unfortunately) cards try to go to their specific trash - it is very rare and usually specifically pointed out if a card should go to a trash other than the one they are associated with.
    • When Guise copies cards from The Sentinels, he replaces "The Sentinels" with "Guise" as well as each individual hero's name. He's greedy.
    • If a Form card is in play and Guise plays "Uh, Yeah, I'm That Guy!", the Form card will be destroyed since "Uh, Yeah, I'm That Guy!" gains the text: "When this Card enters play, Destroy any other Form Cards." This works the same as Mr. Fixer's Style cards.
    • If Uh Yeah, I'm That Guy! copies 2 Friendly Fires from Setback's play area, Guise can still only activate the Friendly Fire effect once.
    • When a hero uses text on a card in another play area, there is no implicit replacement of hero names in that text. The effect occurs as written. This is a change in previous behaviour, notably with Guise, The Argent Adept, and The Naturalist. Example: if Guise activates a perform text on Scherzo of Frost and Flame, The Argent Adept deals the damage. If Guise copies Scherzo of Frost and Flame with Uh Yeah, I'm That Guy! and activates the perform text on Uh Yeah, I'm That Guy! then Guise deals the damage. The Argent Adept can also activate the perform text on Uh Yeah, I'm That Guy! and Guise deals the damage.
    • The order of copied card text on Uh Yeah, I’m That Guy is player choice. For example, if Guise copies Stuntman, he can have several "when this card is destroyed" effects written on the card. The order they occur is up to Guise.
    • When a card is in the process of being destroyed, it cannot deal damage other than damage that is specifically tagged as “deal this damage when this card is being destroyed.” For example, suppose Guise has Uh Yeah copying Mainstay with Shard Strength and Preemptive Payback. At the start of Guise's turn, he goes to deal himself toxic damage (due to Shard Strength) and decides to destroy Uh Yeah (due to Preemptive Payback). The "when this card is destroyed" text of both cards occur on Uh Yeah. The toxic damage no longer occurs, because Uh Yeah has been destroyed.
  • "I Can Do That, Too!"
    • If Guise cannot use powers, he cannot use "I Can Do That, Too!" to use another hero's power.
    • If Guise uses "I Can Do That, Too!" twice in the same turn, he cannot use the same other hero's power twice.
    • If Guise uses "I Can Do That, Too!" on a hero's power--say, Mr. Fixer--Mr. Fixer is allowed to use that same power in the same turn.
    • When Guise uses "I Can Do That, Too!" to cause an ongoing effect (such as "Galvanize"), Guise is responsible for that effect, not the original hero. This can matter for cards like "Isolated Hero".
    • If a hero has extra powers, for example from Plague Rat's flipped side, those are not selectable for "I Can Do That, Too!" because they are not printed on an active hero character card in play.
    • If Guise uses "Lemme See That..." to take "Jack Handle", and then uses "I Can Do That, Too!" to use the power "Squall", then for each target hit by the power, "Jack Handle" takes effect. For example, if there are 4 targets in play, Guise will deal 1 damage 4 times each to the 4 targets (16 times in total). Gross.
    • If it's a limited # of targets like "Thermal Shockwave", the same applies. If it hits 3 targets, then "Jack Handle" fires 3 times.
    • "I Can Do That, Too!" does not allow Guise to discard a card with "Guise" in the title when using Eternal Haka's innate power, because the text "Haka" in the power is not referring to Haka's name. But that's hilarious.
    • If Guise uses "I Can Do That, Too!" on Dark Watch Setback, then the effects stack. It works like two instances of Stealth from The Wraith.
    • When Guise copies Mainstay's power "Reduce Damage dealt to all your Hero Targets" it results in reducing damage dealt to Guise.
    • If Guise uses Extremist Sky-Scraper's Tiny or Huge powers, he performs all the text as usual except the "switch to your normal character card"
    • If Guise uses Super Sentai Idealist’s power to put Void Guard The Idealist’s cards underneath his character card and then becomes incapacitated, the cards stay underneath his character card.
  • Completionists do it better!
    • When Completionist Guise uses the power on the card he puts underneath him, he can use Applied Numerology on it, if it has a numeral.
    • When Guise uses abilities that let him flip Control Tokens, he flips The Harpy's tokens. If Called to Judgement lets another hero use Dark Watch Harpy's power, nothing happens, unless The Harpy is in play and has tokens. In that case, the tokens that are in play are the ones that get flipped. If The Harpy or Dark Watch Harpy is the Representative of Earth and is not otherwise in the game, then she does not have tokens.
    • If Completionist Guise replaces his own character card using his power, then he has another power, and the cards he’s got under him are irrelevant. If Guise is incapacitated after doing so, then he’s incapacitated as whatever Guise he was at the time of death, and has a bunch of irrelevant cards under his incapacitated card.
    • If Guise has already used a hero’s power with I Can Do That Too this turn and then uses Completionist Guise’s power on that hero, he cannot use their power a second time.
    • Completionist Guise can target an incapacitated hero with his power. If he does so, the incoming variant enters the game incapacitated.
    • Variants that incapacitated Completionist Guise removes from the game are not considered in the box; they're gone. You may wonder: can they be selected to be played in OblivAeon mode when replacing a hero, or as the Representative of Earth? What cards? I don’t know what cards you’re talking about - they don’t exist anymore. What you are contractually obligated to do whenever something says “remove [a card] from the game” is tear it up and burn the remains.
    • The “collection” in the text of incapacitated Completionist Guise’s third incapacitated ability refers to the cards under Completionist Guise.
    • If Completionist Guise is incapacitated and has character cards from The Sentinels under him, he only removes one of them to allow the Sentinels to take a full turn.
    • The cards under Completionist Guise are not considered in play. They’ve been bagged and boarded, and thus cannot be affected in any way, other than Guise getting them out to read while wearing gloves in a hermetically-sealed room. (Meaning, a room sealed by the villain Hermetic.) They cannot be destroyed by cards like End of Days, Cedistic Dissonant, or Freedom Six Tempest. They do not count as anyone’s card’s in play - they’re a fancy collection of collectibles. They belong in a museum!
    • If Completionist Guise switches to a variant with a lower max HP than the hero's current HP, their HP drops accordingly. If he switches to a variant with higher max HP than the current value, their HP does not change, but they are no longer at their maximum HP. If Completionist Guise replaces the Representative of Earth, their HP gets set to 10, regardless of what the HP of the previous Representative of Earth was.
    • Suppose Completionist Guise is using both Applied Numerology and XPW Captain Cosmic's power, and increases the number of targets he hits. Each construct deals BOTH targets the energy damage.
    • If Completionist Guise uses Super Sentai Idealist's power and attempts to destroy a character under him, nothing happens.
    • If Completionist Guise replaces an incapacitated hero, he gets to use the power from the other side.
    • If Completionist Guise replaces himself, he doesn't get to use the "deal 2 psychic damage" part of the power. That text doesn't exist anymore. He's a different Guise now.
    • When Completionist Guise replaces Sky-Scraper, the new Sky-Scraper's size matches the old one's size.

Spiff's Clarifications

Lemme See That...

  • This card reads, "Play this Card by an Equipment Card. That Card affects Guise as if the Hero name on that Card were Guise and 'you' on that Card means Guise's Player. At the start of your turn, play air guitar and Destroy this Card". When "Lemme See That..." is in play next to an equipment card, Guise is essentially replacing the original owner of the equipment. the original owner of the equipment card does not get to use the equipment while "Lemme See That..." is in play.[1]
  • You guys totally knew this already though right? While I can make anything look good I do not want to be trying to share the Bunker suit with another person in it. That is some serious B.O. in there.

Sources