Mr. Fixer/Clarifications

From Sentinel Comics Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search



Edit this Clarification

Fireside Chats

  • There is an exception to the order of operations ruling relating to reacting to damage being dealt. A card (or cards belonging to a hero/villain) that reacts to damage being dealt to it reacts before other cards do. The card dealing the damage and other interested cards happen afterwards and can be ordered by player choice.
    • Example: Suppose Mr. Fixer has Dual Crowbars and Bloody Knuckles in play. Omnitron has Adaptive Plating Subroutine but is not immune to anything yet. Mr. Fixer uses Strike to hit Omnitron for 3 melee damage. Omnitron's HP goes down by 3. Then, by this ruling, the text on Adaptive Plating Subroutine must react first and make Omnitron immune to melee damage. Then, the text on Dual Crowbars reacts and Mr. Fixer can deal damage to another target. Without this ruling, you could use Synaptic Interruption and careful ordering to hit Omnitron twice before it becomes immune to melee damage.
  • If Mr. Fixer plays Overdrive more than once on a turn, he still only gets to use “Strike” twice in total on that turn.
  • Mr. Fixer is an Isolated Hero and plays Grease Gun. When a non-hero target tries to deal damage to a hero target, and cannot, this does not count as “affecting another hero."
  • When Fixed Point is destroyed, it does not look into the past to determine if anything should be destroyed. For example, multiple Tool cards in play do not return to hand (until the next time a Tool card is played). The only thing that happens when Fixed Point is destroyed is that targets with <= 0 HP, and are no longer indestructible, are destroyed.
  • If Jack Handle activates from a dynamic amount of damage, the amount is fixed upon first attempting to deal damage. This can occur in situations with Impossible Quandary.

Styles

  • Driving Mantis only activates once per turn. What this means is that you only get one chance to say yes/no to redirecting damage to Mr. Fixer. For example, if Mr. Fixer will take 2 instances of damage in a turn, you cannot say NO to the first damage and YES to the second damage, as you have already missed your chance. Answering yes/no to the question uses it up. However, if you have a choice between Driving Mantis and Wrest The Mind, and you choose Wrest The Mind and redirect the damage, then Driving Mantis was never "asked" to be used, so it can still be used that turn.
  • If a temporary damage reduction is used to pass a redirection test (e.g. Driving Mantis), then it gets used up even though no damage would have been dealt to that target.

Tools

  • Jack Handle effectively cancels the original damage, and causes a new set of damage dealing instance to all non-hero targets with the original damage amount/type/irreducibility.
  • Suppose you play Catch a Ride and use Mr. Fixer, who has Jack Handle in play. Mr. Fixer hits everyone, and Sky-Scraper picks one of them to hit.
  • Dual Crowbars works somewhat like Isothermic Transducer. The final damage dealt from the first instance of damage forms the initial amount/type/irreducibility of the second instance of damage. That means you can benefit twice from damage increases.
  • Dual Crowbars applies both the irreducibility and “unredirectability” of the end result of the first damage to the starting point of the second damage.
  • For the second instance of damage, Dual Crowbars is only restricted from selecting the target that was the final result of the first instance of damage (after all redirects).
  • Hoist Chain stacks like Stun Bolt if Mr. Fixer damages the same target more than once.

Shenanigans

  • When Dual Crowbars and Jack Handle are in play at the same time and Mr. Fixer deals damage, the following occurs. Mr. Fixer deals the damage to all non-hero targets (due to Jack Handle). Then once that is fully resolved, Dual Crowbars takes effect based on the damage dealt to the first target. That damage is dealt to all non-hero targets (due to Jack Handle).
  • When two Jack Handles are in play, nothing happens differently from one Jack Handle in play.
  • When two Dual Crowbars are in play, a third damage happens after the second (based on that damage dealt). The third damage is allowed to choose the target of the first damage, because it's a new Dual Crowbar effect.
  • If Guise plays Tool Box from his hand, it goes to Mr. Fixer's play area and Mr. Fixer draws the cards, not Guise.
  • Suppose Mr. Fixer would deal 1 damage to a target. Due to Jack Handle, Mr. Fixer deals the 1 damage to all non-hero targets, then Friendly Fire lets him deal 2 to Setback, which becomes 2 to all non-hero targets, and then stops. Setback does not get to add 2 tokens to his Unlucky Pool, as he was not damaged this way.
  • When there are two copies of Friendly Fire in play, they both can be activated (but not off each other's damage), which means Setback would get hit twice and get a total of 4 tokens. In the case of Jack Handle, this would generate two Jack Handle attacks, but zero tokens, as Setback was not hit.
  • Suppose Guise has Dual Crowbars and then uses I Can Do That Too on Sky-Scraper’s Huge card. After the first “round” of damage (to non-hero targets), Dual Crowbars causes Guise to deal as much damage as was dealt to the first non-hero target to one more target. Then, after the second “round” of damage (to hero targets), Dual Crowbars causes Guise to deal as much damage as was dealt to the first hero to one more target. (This is how Dual Crowbars interacts with Jack Handle)

Spiff's Clarifications

Bitter Strike counts as a Strike

  • The power on Mr. Fixer’s Dark Watch alternate version is called “Bitter Strike”. This power is considered a “Strike” for the purposes of his “Overdrive” card, which lets you use his “Strike” power twice when played. New Promo Heroes/Villains

Jack Handle

  • The first paragraph on this card reads “whenever mr. Fixer would deal damage to a target, he deals that much damage to all non-hero targets.” what does that actually mean? It means that instead of dealing the original damage, he deals that same amount and type of damage to all non-hero targets. Effectively, the original damage Mr. Fixer would have dealt gets prevented and is replaced by the damage to all non-hero targets. This may cause an interesting twist if Mr. Fixer has a card like Plague Rat’s “Infection” card on him, which reads in part “at the start of that hero’s turn, they deal themselves 1 irreducible toxic damage”. in this case, the 1 irreducible toxic damage he would do to himself get cancelled and is replaced by the same amount/type of damage to all non-hero targets. This not only makes Mr. Fixer immune to the damage he would normally cause himself when under the influence of an “Infection” card, but the damage he deals out to all non-hero targets is irreducible just like the original damage he would have dealt. Lastly, what exactly does “that much damage” mean? it means that whatever amount of damage was dealt after taking into account all modifiers is what is dealt to all non-hero cards, with no further modification. so, If Mr. Fixer would deal 1 damage plus 2 due to modifiers, 3 damage is how much is done to all non-hero targets, not the 3 plus another 2. Note that using “Jack Handle” isn’t a separate step in an attack for Mr. Fixer. it is an automatic effect which occurs with every attack.

Overdrive

  • This card reads, “you may use Mr. Fixer’s ‘strike’ power twice this turn”. if some effect allows Mr. Fixer to play this card when it’s not his turn, you’ll still do what the card says, and Mr. Fixer would get to use “Strike” twice when the card is played, even if it’s not Fixer’s turn. What if “Overdrive” is played and mr. fixer has a power besides “Strike” that he’d like to activate that turn as well? It depends on the timing: if Fixer uses “Strike” first, he’s used his “Strike” power for the turn and can’t activate it again. However, if he activates a different power first, he could still activate “Strike” twice also because that’s what “Overdrive” says to do, use “Strike” twice. Fixer's Overdrive and extra powers

Sources