OblivAeon(Villain)/Clarifications

From Sentinel Comics Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search



Edit this Clarification

Fireside Chats

  • OblivAeon Mode
    • Switching Battle Zones does not count as a card entering/leaving play (e.g. Hair-trigger Reflexes).
    • The Inevitable Destruction card, Scion Reserve, and Battle Zone cards work like the Ennead instructions card in that they are “ghost cards.” They not count as cards in play and nothing else can affect them.
    • Some environment cards travel between battle zones (with help). Examples: Bloogo, treasures, trials, targets under Savage Mana. When an environment card is destroyed, it goes back to its proper trash, even if that’s in the other battle zone.
    • Advanced/challenge modes can be specified on a per-scion basis, like villain team mode.
    • When an environment is removed from the game, any hero cards in that environment’s trash go to their hero’s trash.
    • When Voss usurps OblivAeon, you can only use Rites of Revival if there are no active heroes in your play area. You can resurrect any one of your incapacitated heroes, as long as you have zero active heroes.
    • New scions are targets entering play, but not cards entering play (similar to the Ennead). Therefore Buffer Overflow cannot react to them.
    • The order of start/end of turn actions based on when cards entering play are preserved even when cards move between battle zones.
    • When cards refer to “all X in the game” (e.g. OblivAeon page 2, Global Devastation) this ignores Battle Zones.
    • Temporary effects created by a hero (e.g. Galvanize) follow them when switching Battle Zones.
    • Scions activate their start/end of turn actions in the order they were moved into play.
    • When temporary effects are created that affect all heroes in a battle zone, and new heroes enter the battle zone, the effects apply to the new heroes.
    • When an environment is removed and replaced, any cards that were next to the old environment’s targets (e.g. constructs, links, bounties) go to their respective trashes.
    • When Captain Cosmic Requital gets incapacitated, he can play rewards from under his character card. Rewards go on top of the Construct cards.
    • Similarly, incapacitated Completionist Guise can remove rewards from the game. What a jerk. To no effect. What a silly waste.
    • If OblivAeon is in Battle Zone 1 and The Wraith is in Battle Zone 2 and OblivAeon deals damage to all targets, she cannot deal counter damage to OblivAeon via Combat Stance. Tachyon in Battle Zone 2 cannot use Synaptic Interruption to redirect the damage back to OblivAeon. They cannot interact with a target in another battle zone. OblivAeon is the only one who can, and only when a card specifically allows him to do so.
    • If The Wraith uses Stun Bolt on OblivAeon and then she switches Battle Zones, the effect follows The Wraith and no longer affects OblivAeon until they are in the same Battle Zone. Unless stated otherwise, cards and effects in a battle zone cannot affect or be affected by anything in the other battle zone.
    • Mission cards enter play when they are taken on by a hero.
    • If a hero gets incapacitated during their “Before Start of Turn” phase, they get to use an incapacitated ability as normal. They can choose from any of the incapacitated heroes in their play area.
    • When Aeon Master plays the top card of the Aeon Men deck, it plays in Aeon Master’s Battle Zone, not OblivAeon’s. Aeon Master can only act in the battle zone that Aeon Master is in, unless an effect specifically says otherwise.
    • In Medias Res can interrupt and stop Borr the Unstable’s flip actions (destroy environments and deal damage). However, Borr himself is still removed from the game. That action is going to happen, no matter what.
    • The flipped side of Faultless is still a villain character card. It works the same as Heroic Infinitor.
    • On Advanced, Faultless effectively always reduces damage by 2. If Legacy deals Faultless 4 damage, Faultless takes 2 damage (-1 damage because even, -1 from Advanced). If Legacy deals Advanced Faultless 3 damage, Faultless takes 1 damage (-1 from Advanced, then -1 damage because even).
    • Sanction reacts twice whenever objectives are traded, because there are two objective cards moving into hero play areas.
    • When fighting Voss, if a hero is incapacitated, during their turn they get to use an incapacitated ability twice (once during Before Start of Turn and once during the middle of their turn as normal). They’ll need it!
    • In the OblivAeon booklet it says in a few places: "Follow the environment removal rules on the top card of the scion reserve" without saying which environment to remove. In these cases, the players may choose which environment to remove.
    • If a player has both Omni-Unity in play and the Infinity Cannon or Chekhov’s Hairdryer, they count as mechanical golems as well.
    • When a card looks for the hero with the most rewards, rewards under character cards do not count toward that number.
    • If OblivAeon deals damage to the Representative of Earth via Disrupt Spacetime, that hero and the Representative of Earth card go on a trip! They live in that other environment until something sends them back. If/when Representative of Earth gets destroyed, it returns to its proper trash pile. If the Game Over effect occurs, it takes place in that Battle Zone, destroying the other environment rather than the Celestial Tribunal.
    • If Potential Pratfalls and OblivAeon are in Battle Zone 1 and OblivAeon plays Global Devastation (dealing damage in both Battle Zones), Potential Pratfalls only reduces the melee damage that OblivAeon deals in Battle Zone 1. It cannot effect the damage dealt to targets in Battle Zone 2.
    • The Abyss Stares Back follows the same rules as Shinobi Assassin with regards to being revealed/discarded (you reveal/discard the next card).
    • Suppose OblivAeon is in Battle Zone 1 and Aeon Master and an Aeon Warrior are in Battle Zone 2. If Aeon Master causes OblivAeon to destroy the Aeon Warrior, OblivAeon deals damage to a target in Battle Zone 2, the zone the Aeon Warrior was in.
    • When the Arc of Unreality is in play and the Sentinels enter the Battle Zone, one member of the team takes damage and one token is added to the card.
    • Demand of the Gods may be moved to another hero’s play area that already has an objective.
    • Ammo played to the Infinity Cannon by the first part of the power gets used by the damage in the second part of the power.
    • The text of “A Brother’s Sacrifice” is updated to read: "prevent that damage or destruction".
    • Infusion of Power only counts active heroes. The Sentinels count as up to 4 heroes (1 for each active hero character card). If the Sentinels have The Apex of Humanity in their play area it affects them all, but the last line only affects the one of them that uses the power.
    • In OblivAeon mode, cards that refer to "the villain deck" can affect any of the villain decks (OblivAeon deck, Aeon Men deck, & Scion deck), similar to villain team mode.
    • The OblivAeon decks do not reside in a battle zone. Whenever a card is in a battle zone, a “portal” to that deck becomes available. For example, if Take Down is in play, Legacy only prevents villain cards being played to the battle zone Legacy is in. He does not prevent villain cards from being played in the other battle zone.
    • Suppose OblivAeon is at the end of his turn destroying Aeon Men. He destroys an Aeon Locus, and that causes OblivAeon to play a card that moves him to the other battle zone. He continues destroying Aeon Men in whatever Battle Zone he's in until there are no more in that Battle Zone. If he moves away from Aeon Men before destroying them, they're safe. For now.
    • Faultless allows each of the individual members of the Sentinels to use a power at the end of his turn.
    • When Faultless flips, it counts as a scion being removed from the game.
    • Mission cards where both sides have a target are considered different targets on each side. Even Citizen Storm, who has the same name on both sides. Example: OblivAeon damages all targets, causing Citizen Storm (objective) to flip. Citizen Storm (reward) is then also damaged.
    • "Until the start of your turn" effects expire after the "before start of turn" phase. Example: Legacy uses Galvanize. Then before the start of his next turn, he uses an incapacitated ability to play a card. Galvanize is still in effect for that card play. OblivAeon apologizes for the weirdness of his game mode. He wanted to destroy everything, not create a bunch of complications. He's really into simplicity!
    • Suppose a Shinobi Assassin is on a hero deck, and then the hero moves to the other battle zone (non-Temple of Zhu Long). When the hero draws a card and the Shinobi Assassin is put into play, it goes to the environment play area, as per the text. No matter that the environment play area isn't the Temple of Zhu Long - he sends his assassins all sorts of strange places.
    • Suppose a Shinobi Assassin is in play and there are no heroes in its battle zone. When it is destroyed, with no top of hero decks for it to go to, it defaults to the environment trash.
    • Suppose on OblivAeon's last page, the countdown token reaches 0. OblivAeon chooses the hero with the lowest HP in the entire game, not just his battle zone. It removes the environment with the hero, as it says it erases a hero and their surroundings.
    • If Dark Mind steals the card that is revealed by Great Fortune, the card that you selected from your hand doesn't share a keyword with any revealed card, as it has been stolen and has no text. Thus, the selected card is discarded. Gotta go beat up Dark Mind!
    • Great Fortune wants to play the revealed card and the card in hand, but playing the revealed card causes the card in hand to be discarded. In this case, you choose what order to play them. If you choose to play them in an order where the card in hand is necessarily discarded, then it's discarded and you don't get to play it. However, if you play that one first, then you're safe from that happening. That said, you have the option to play them in whatever order you want in case you do need to discard it, as in the case of Wrathful Retribution. If instead of being discarded, the selected card in hand was played some other way (and is back in your hand when it comes back around to Great Fortune), you can still play it (since it's still in your hand).
    • When Bloodsworn Exhibition or Devastating Aurora are moved to another hero deck, their ownership changes.
    • After Scion Voss flips, if a hero has been incapacitated, their "before the start of turn" options are restricted. They cannot take on objectives, swap our or trade objectives, or regain rewards. They can shuffle the mission deck.
    • When Scion Voss flips, his card is moved to the OblivAeon play area. He is now in the battle zone where OblivAeon was (if different).
    • Suppose a card is dealing damage to all targets, and in the middle of that, it is moved to the other battle zone. It continues dealing damage to all targets in the new battle zone.
    • If OblivAeon is in the First Battle Zone and The Scholar is in the Second Battle Zone with Alchemical Redirection in play and OblivAeon plays Global Devastation, Alchemical Redirection applies only to the damages to hero targets in the Scholar's battle zone.
    • Suppose Fanatic has Orchestrate the Void, and plays Embolden on another hero. When that hero uses an additional power granted by Embolden, Orchestrate the Void gets a token. The same thing goes for other cards that do similar things.
    • Orchestrate the Void gets a token if you use an incapacitated ability on a previous hero to allow someone to do a thing.
    • Drawn Deadly Attention cannot incapacitate heroes if Fixed Point is in play in the battle zone. As a result, the shield card stays in play.
    • Suppose Page 3 OblivAeon plays a one-shot causing it to deal damage to all targets, and hits the Wraith, who reacts with Combat Stance, causing OA to be destroyed. If Voss replaces OA, he does not continue dealing damage. The original target dealing that damage is gone, regardless of the fact that it has been replaced. The effect ends, but then Voss continues on from there as a new version of OblivAeon.
    • The start of turn checks on the Battle Zone cards count the number of active heroes. Incapacitated heroes do not count. Individual (active) members of The Sentinels do count. Cards under Completionist Guise do not count.
    • Cards that count "number of cards destroyed this turn" track the number of cards "witnessed being destroyed" by the card. This means if you have such a card, and another card is destroyed, then you move to the other battle zone and destroy 2 more cards, the card that's watching for destroyed cards counts 3. Unnatural Upheaval tracks any card that Lifeline has witnessed being destroyed this turn.
    • If Dark Mind discards 3 cards at the end of the turn and is dealing 4 psychic damage to the highest HP hero target multiple times, she re-evaluates the highest HP target between damages dealt.
    • If NightMist reveals/discards cards that have no magic number (e.g. reward cards), the spell fizzles and has no effect. In the case of Oblivion, if only one card has a magic number, you choose one effect that gets the magic.
    • When Voss replaces OblivAeon, cards "next to" OblivAeon do not move next to Voss. Voss has the power of OblivAeon, but he's not taking over the physical shell of OblivAeon.
    • Santa Guise's second innate power has a heretofore unmentioned implied "non-mission" right between "face-down" and "cards". It's also on his incapacitated side, coincidentally. You didn't know about that? Come on, it's right there. Anyway, no need to add that text to the card or anything - it's just true! As a result, if Santa Guise uses his first power on a mission card, Gift-mas time came early this year! You just get that reward NOW!
    • When you take an objective, its start/end of turn effects are ordered as if it was just played, and stays in the same order when it flips.
    • Suppose the Arc of Unreality is in play. Before the start of their turn, a hero moves into the battle zone with OblivAeon and is incapacitated by the damage from the shield. All the usual pre-start of turn options remain available, you can use an incapacitated ability during your turn, and your hero is replaced after the end of your turn. Notably you can get a new objective, and it stays there for the new hero.
    • Suppose the Arc of Unreality is in play with H-1 tokens on it. A hero enters the battle zone, so a token is added to it. According to the text of the card, it flips immediately (before OblivAeon deals damage). Oblivaeon does not deal damage, since that text is no longer in play.
    • Suppose a hero is incapacitated, and after the end of the turn, there are no heroes left in the box who can replace them. You lose the game if every hero and every variant gets incapacitated. Like, how did that happen before running out of environments? If there are no unused heroes available currently, but later one becomes available, after the end of your turn, you can attempt to replace your hero, if possible.
    • Suppose Shattering Blow is in play, and 6 damage is dealt to OblivAeon, who is replaced by Voss. In order to flip Shattering Blow this turn, you now only need to deal 6 damage to Voss this turn. Damage dealt to Voss this turn before he becomes OblivAeon doesn't count.
    • Suppose you play Aggression Modulator next to Enraged Terror-Bird (an environment target). When it flips to become Arataki, she still gets the damage increases/reductions. The same thing works for Rebounding Debilitator that specifies a non-hero target.
    • Suppose a hero is incapacitated and after the end of turn, they are replaced. Then, they are immediately incapacitated (e.g. by things reacting to targets entering play, or switching to the other battle zone). They choose another hero right away.
    • Suppose Scholar hits Borr with Offensive Transmutation. Then, on the next turn, Borr flips. He deals the damage on the flip side, since The Scholar is only preventing damage dealt by That Target, and Borr is no longer a target.
    • Suppose it's the start of OA's turn, page 1, and the countdown token moves to 0. During the environment destruction process, OA destroys an Aeon Locus and plays Temporal Fractures. The countdown token does nothing, since it's already at the end of the track and hasn't been reset yet. Another environment does not get destroyed. That would be really mean. Too mean.
    • Cosmic Repercussions does not allow you to prevent damage that would destroy an environment target card.
    • If Dark Mind steals a hero's Reward card and that hero gets incapacitated, the reward stays with Dark Mind. When Dark Mind is destroyed, that Reward goes into the play area with that incapacitated hero, now belonging to the new hero in that play area. If a Reward under Dark Mind is manipulated in some other way, such as Cedistic Dissonant, it would go to the trash pile in that hero's play area, regardless of the incapacitated state of that hero. If OblivAeon has erased that hero, or Scion Voss has destroyed that hero and there is no trash pile, the game removes that Reward from existence. It will never be played again. It never existed in the first place. What Reward card?
    • Savage Mana requires Haka to be the source of destruction, either via damage dealt by Haka himself, or a "destroy" card played by Haka's player. Damage or destroy effects from another target in Haka's play area, such as reward cards like T-Rex Bot, do not count.
    • Suppose NightMist plays Mistbound on the Aeon Men Deck, and OblivAeon (in the First Battle Zone) attempts to play Aeon Men into the Second Battle Zone.
      • If NightMist is in the First Battle Zone and there is an Aeon Man in the First Battle Zone, then OblivAeon can play Aeon Men into the Second Battle Zone, but not the First Battle Zone.
      • If NightMist is in the Second Battle Zone and there is an Aeon Man in the Second Battle Zone, then OblivAeon can play Aeon Men into the First Battle Zone, but not the Second Battle Zone.
      • If NightMist is in the Second Battle Zone and there are no Aeon Man anymore in the Second Battle Zone, then OblivAeon can play Aeon Men into the First Battle Zone but not the Second Battle Zone.
      • If Legacy is alone in the Second Battle Zone and plays Take Down, OA can play Focus of Power over there, and ONE Aeon Man over there, but as soon as Legacy can "see" any of those villain decks, Take Down affects those decks.