Omnitron-X/Clarifications

From Sentinel Comics Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search



Edit this Clarification

Fireside Chats

Villain

  • There is an exception to the order of operations ruling relating to reacting to damage being dealt. A card (or cards belonging to a hero/villain) that reacts to damage being dealt to it reacts before other cards do. The card dealing the damage and other interested cards happen afterwards and can be ordered by player choice.
    • Example: Suppose Mr. Fixer has Dual Crowbars and Bloody Knuckles in play. Omnitron has Adaptive Plating Subroutine but is not immune to anything yet. Mr. Fixer uses Strike to hit Omnitron for 3 melee damage. Omnitron's HP goes down by 3. Then, by this ruling, the text on Adaptive Plating Subroutine must react first and make Omnitron immune to melee damage. Then, the text on Dual Crowbars reacts and Mr. Fixer can deal damage to another target. Without this ruling, you could use Synaptic Interruption and careful ordering to hit Omnitron twice before it becomes immune to melee damage.
  • Cards like Combat Stance and Quark Drive (that say “the first time X”) have an implicit “since this card entered play”. This also applies to Omnitron's components and Rooftop Combat.
  • Suppose Fixed Point is in play and Omnitron is dealt 7 or more damage in the round (with components in play). Its components are not destroyed due to Fixed Point. Once Fixed Point is destroyed, the components are destroyed immediately because Omnitron had been dealt 7 or more damage in the round.
  • Players can “mix and match” the damage orders from Technological Singularity. In the video game for simplicity, it happens per hero.
  • Technological Singularity damages each of The Sentinels hero character cards based on the number of The Sentinels equipment cards. Ouch!
  • Omnitron Challenge Mode: If you deal more than 7 damage to Omnitron in a single blow, the extra damage carries forward to count toward the next component destruction.
  • Omnitron Challenge Mode: If several components are in play and Omnitron has taken 4 damage, and a new component comes in, when Omnitron takes 3 more damage, the new component can be chosen for destruction. When you hit that 7 damage threshold, you can choose one of the in play components. Think of it like building up charges - when fully charged, you destroy a component, regardless of when that component entered play.
  • Omnitron Challenge Mode text is updated to read: "For every 7 damage Omnitron is dealt in a round, the heroes may choose one villain component to destroyed. Ignore the second line of text on villain component cards."
  • Omnitron Challenge Mode: Keep tracking damage even if there are no components in play. Every time you get to a 7 threshold, check to see if there’s one to destroy and do so. If there are multiple components, it's heroes’ choice

Hero

  • Title: “Chaos Lord” excludes cards that were "put into play" by the player. Cards played by another source (e.g. Set’s incapped side) do not count. Cards belonging to other heroes do not count (e.g. Omnitron-X’s base power).
  • If Guise uses “Lemme See That…” on one of Omnitron-X’s Plating cards, when Omnitron-X uses Reactive Plating Subroutine, that plating card still counts.
  • Suppose Fixed Point is in play and Omnitron is dealt 7 or more damage in the round (with components in play). Its components are not destroyed due to Fixed Point. Once Fixed Point is destroyed, the components are destroyed immediately because Omnitron had been dealt 7 or more damage in the round.
  • Hasty Augmentation increases the damage on Omnitron-U’s innate power.
  • Cards like Combat Stance and Quark Drive (that say “the first time X”) have an implicit “since this card entered play”. This also applies to Omnitron's components and Rooftop Combat.

Environment

  • If both copies of Overcharged Systems are in play, the start of turn effects do not happen twice at the end of the environment turn.
  • If Techno-Pursuer destroys itself, it does not play the top card of the environment deck.
  • Suppose Inconceivable Obstruction is in play and a primordial seed is on top of the environment deck. When Kismet would be dealt damage, the seed is revealed and is a target, so it is put into play and the damage redirected to it. The "when this card is played from the environment deck" text on the seed takes effect before the damage. This applies to certain environment cards too, like Partial Omni-Drone.

Spiff's Clarifications

Omnitron-X (hero)

Reactive Plating Subroutine

  • Omnitron-X must actually take damage in order for “Reactive Plating Subroutine” to trigger. If the incoming damage is reduced to zero or prevented somehow (perhaps by one of his own platings), this card will not deal any damage. Reactive Plating

Omnitron (villain)

Adaptive Plating Subroutine

  • Every time Omnitron is hit by a new damage type, this card makes omnitron immune to that damage type. because the immunity is granted by the “adaptive plating subroutine” card itself, when “adaptive plating subroutine” is destroyed, that immunity goes away too.

Damaging omnitron’s components

  • Omnitron’s Component cards all include the text “destroy this card when Omnitron is dealt 7 or more damage in one round”. These cards should be treated as if they had “… since this card entered play” in the text, meaning they start tracking the hp dealt from the point they enter play, not from the actual beginning of the round. this is different from most cards that track things which happen during a turn or round (see under “timing” for more information). Title Timing. Also, just as a general clarification, the 7-damage counter isn’t per-component. As soon as Omnitron has been dealt 7 damage total, all components for which that is true will be destroyed.

“Technological Singularity” and the Sentinels

  • This card says, “destroy all equipment cards. Omnitron deals each hero character card 2 lightning damage for each equipment card belonging to that hero destroyed his way.” because the Sentinels have 4 hero character cards, each of the Sentinels will individually take damage based on the total number of the Sentinel’s equipment cards which were destroyed. Fireside Chats

Playing cards after reaching 0 HP

  • When Omnitron is reduced to 0 or fewer HP, his Villain Character Cards are removed from play, but the Villain Deck is still in play. because The rules say that on the Villain Turn, you play the top card of the Villain Deck, you will still do that even if Omnitron’s character cards have been removed. Any card which has a line mentioning Omnitron at this point would basically have that line ignored (for example, “restore X HP to Omnitron” or “Omnitron deals target X damage”).

Oversized card errata

  • Omnitron’s oversized card is missing the keyword “Device”. Omnitron is considered both a villain and a device, which is printed correctly on his normal-sized card.

Applies to both

Omnitron-X’s components = Omnitron’s components

  • Both Omnitron-X and the villain Omnitron have cards with the keyword “Component”. anything which effects components will effect both kinds of cards. The Component Keyword

Sources