Wraith/Clarifications

From Sentinel Comics Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search



Edit this Clarification

Fireside Chats

  • If the Wraith has Combat Stance in play and is incapacitated by damage, Combat Stance is removed from play before its effect can occur.
  • If The Wraith has Stealth active, and something does 0 damage to her, it does not use up the temporary damage reduction. If something does 1 damage, but there is another effect that reduces damage by 1, she can choose the order of operations such that it becomes 0 damage and does not use up the temporary damage reduction.
  • If a temporary damage reduction is used to pass a redirection test (e.g. Driving Mantis), then it gets used up even though no damage would have been dealt to that target.
  • If Rook City Wraith uses Sleuth when environment cards cannot be played, the revealed card must be discarded.
  • If The Wraith cannot deal damage, she can still use Stun Bolt to apply the “reduce all damage dealt by” effect to a target.
  • When a card enters play, the following order of things occurs.
    • Ongoing effects on the card become applicable.
    • Cards that react to other cards entering play now act.
    • One-time effects on the card happen.
      • A well-known example of this is Informant. Suppose Informant and Combat Stance are in play and Legacy plays Inspiring Presence.
      • Damage dealt by hero targets is now increased by 1.
      • Informant causes The Chairman to play a card. Suppose it’s Undivided Attention, damaging The Wraith. Combat Stance reacts and its damage is increased by 1 due to Inspiring Presence.
      • All hero targets regain 1 HP.
  • If The Wraith is the only hero target and Smoke Bombs is in play, it does not redirect the damage, but still reduces damage dealt to the Wraith by 1. This also happens if The Wraith is an Isolated Hero.
  • If Throat Jab is played during the start of The Wraith’s turn (due to Spite: Agent of Gloom & a victim), the effect expires at the start of The Wraith's NEXT turn.
  • Cards like Combat Stance and Quark Drive (that say “the first time X”) have an implicit “since this card entered play”. This also applies to Omnitron's components and Rooftop Combat.
  • If hero target A deals itself damage from “The New Deal”, and that damage is redirected to hero B, and hero B becomes incapacitated, that still counts as “is incapacitated this way.” Counter damage that a hero target deals itself because of something like “Combat Stance” does not count.
  • Wrong Time and Place tracks the first time each turn that each individual hero target would be dealt damage (similar to how Combat Stance works).
  • Divine Sacrifice and Stun Bolt do not require the target to take damage in order to get the extra effect. If the damage is redirected, the ultimate target gets the extra effect.
  • The Seeker title is not awarded if the target dealing the damage has an effect like Stun Bolt on them. The damage reduction needs to be on the target, not the damage dealer. However, global damage reduction (e.g. Defensive Displacement) does count.

Spiff's Clarifications

Combat Stance

  • This card says that the first time Wraith is dealt damage in a turn, she deals 2 melee damage to that target. However, if the incoming damage to Wraith is reduced to the point where she actually takes no damage, then the damage done to the attacking target never happens. Wraith must take at least 1 point of damage for her to deal 2 melee damage to her attacker. Also, as covered in the “the first time a target does xyz…” topic in the “other” section of this document, “Combat Stance” is triggered the first time wraith is dealt damage per target, per turn. so, if two different targets damage Wraith in a turn, “Combat Stance” will trigger each time, but if a single target damages her twice in the same turn, “Combat Stance” will only trigger once. Combat Stance If Wraith is incapacitated while “Combat stance” is in play, “Combat Stance” is removed from play before the damage-back effect can occur. Fireside Chats

Infrared Eyepiece” and Ambuscade’s traps

  • See the “ambuscade” villain entry for more details (short version, if one of the cards you reveal is a face-up trap, the trap activates but doesn’t count as one of the two revealed cards, so you keep going).

Smoke Bombs

  • The card reads “Whenever a villain card would damage the hero target with the lowest hp, redirect that damage to the hero target with the highest hp. Reduce damage redirected this way by 1.” this will activate any time the hero with the lowest hp takes damage from a villain card, not just when the hero was the target of a “damage the hero with the lowest hp”-type effect. What if all heroes have the same hp, meaning they are all simultaneously both the highest and the lowest hp? In this case, “Smoke Bombs” will still redirect the damage from any one of them to any one of them (which could even be the original target) and the reduction in damage will still take effect. It would work the same if there were only one hero left in the game, since that remaining hero would be both the highest and lowest hp.

Sleuth

  • Rook City Wraith’s base power “Sleuth” says, “power: reveal the top card of the environment deck. discard it or play it.” If rook city wraith uses this power when environment cards cannot be played, the only legal option is to discard the revealed card. Fireside Chats

Stealth

  • Wraith’s innate power says, “reduce the next damage that would be dealt to the Wraith by 1.” See “next damage” under the Damage rules for a clarification of how this power works. If wraith has “stealth” active and something does 0 damage to her, it does not use up the damage reduction. If something does 1 damage but there is another effect which reduces damage by 1, Wraith can choose the order of operations such that the damage becomes 0 and so does not use up the damage reduction. Fireside Chats Note: the enhanced edition update to wraith’s “Stealth” ability changed the power’s wording from “preventing” damage to “reducing” damage. That means that the original wraith could use her “Stealth” power to prevent irreducible damage, while the enhanced edition wraith cannot since she is now “reducing” damage, not “preventing” it.

Stun Bolt and redirection

  • This card’s power deals 1 target 1 projectile damage, with the additional effect, “until the start of your next turn, reduce all damage dealt by that target by 1.” If the damage is redirected by some effect, it is the final target whose damage will be reduced, not the initial target. Stun Bolt and Redirection

Throat Jab

  • This card deals 1 target 2 melee damage. any target dealt damage this way cannot deal damage until the start of your next turn. Some cards deal damage in response to having been damaged (Ambuscade’s “Sonic Mines” for example), and because the two sentences on “Throat Jab” are separated, it may seem like the order of operations would go like this – Wraith deals damage, the target card deals its damage back, and then the second sentence kicks in saying that the targeted card can’t deal any damage (now that it’s too late). However, that second sentence is just meant to modify the damage being done by the first sentence and there isn’t any separation between the two operations. so the correct order would be - Wraith deals damage, which causes the target to not be able to deal their damage, then when the targeted card tries to deal its response damage, it can’t. Answers to a Debated Questions

Sources